Kaitlyn Haynal wins the 3rd annual Egolf Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching

Kaitlyn Haynal is the winner of the third annual Egolf Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching. Honoring the memory of longtime faculty member Donald Egolf, the award seeks to recognize excellence in undergraduate teaching as reflected in the development of pedagogy, excellence in teaching, and a commitment to fostering a classroom environment capable of engaging with questions of diversity. Kaitlyn's commitment to mentorship and inclusion, innovative assignments that take student learning outside the classroom, and emphasis on critical cultural inquiry of knowledge production, all contributed to earn her this honor. Kaitlyn is a doctoral candidate in the Department.


About Dr. Egolf and the award:

Dr. Egolf, was a Pitt Associate Professor of Communication and former chair of the University of Pittsburgh’s Communication Department. He received his PhD from The University of Pittsburgh Department of Communication and was the author of several books, the latest of which was published in the summer of 2012 and titled: "Human Communication and the Brain." He valued the Department of Communication and in his memory the department announces the Donald B. Egolf Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching for teaching assistants/fellowships to be nominated for a chance to win the teaching award.